What time is England v Wales tonight? UK kick-off date and time for 2022 World Cup clash at Ahmad bin Ali Stadium

England will face Wales in their final Group B match at the 2022 World Cup tonight.

The Three Lions all but secured their place in the last 16 of the tournament despite their lackluster draw against the USA on Friday.

Bales Wales to beat England in their World Cup clash

Meanwhile, Wales need to beat England to keep their hopes of progress alive.

This should spark an exciting clash between the British rivals in Qatar.

And the Three Lions now know that if they top the group, Senegal await, but if they finish second, England will face the Netherlands.

England v Wales: Kick-off date and time

The Group B meeting will take place on Tuesday 29 November.

Kick-off at the Ahmad bin Ali Stadium in Al Rayyan is scheduled for 7pm UK time, which is 10pm in Qatar.

Iran will face the USA at the same time at the Al Thumama Stadium in Doha.

England v Wales: How to listen on the radio

Full Al Rayyan coverage will be live on talkSPORT, with our pre-match build-up extended from

Adrian Durham will be your host and commentary will come from Jim Proudfoot and former England defender Stuart Pearce and former Wales striker Dean Saunders.

talkSPORT.com will also host a live blog of all the action.

talkSPORT World Cup 2022 coverage

talkSPORT brings you comprehensive coverage of the 2022 World Cup.

We broadcast all 64 matches in the tournament live with over 600 hours of coverage on our network.

You can tune in to talkSPORT and talkSPORT 2 via our free online streaming service at talkSPORT.com.

talkSPORT is widely available throughout the UK via DAB digital radio and on 1089 or 1053 AM.

You can also download the talkSPORT app or ask your smart speaker to play talkSPORT.


England have all but secured their place in the knockout stages

England v Wales: Squad list and news

Phil Foden, Marcus Rashford, Jordan Henderson and Kyle Walker are all set to start for England tonight, according to talkSPORT.

Jude Bellingham is expected to be used in a more forward position, with Southgate remaining with a back four.

Walker has not played a single minute at the World Cup so far due to injury, but will replace Kieran Trippier.

Mason Mount, Bukayo Saka and Raheem Sterling are the other players set to retire on the bench.

James Maddison returned to England for training on Saturday after rehabbing with a knee problem and will be keen to be involved.

Ben White misses out due to illness.

For Wales, they will start with Danny Ward in goal after Wayne Hennessey was sent off in their late loss to Iran.

Joe Allen returned from injury against Iran and could start against England.

England team

  • Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)
  • Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Everton, on loan from Wolves), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier ( Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City) Ben White (Arsenal)
  • Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea).
  • Forwards: Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle), James Maddison ( Leicester City)

Wales team

  • Goalkeepers: Wayne Hennessey, Danny Ward, Adam Davies
  • Defenders: Ben Davies, Ben Cabango, Tom Lockyer, Joe Rodon, Chris Mepham, Ethan Ampadu, Chris Gunter, Neco Williams, Connor Roberts
  • Midfielders: Sorba Thomas, Joe Allen, Matthew Smith, Dylan Levitt, Harry Wilson, Joe Morrell, Jonny Williams, Aaron Ramsey
  • Forwards: Rubin Colwill, Gareth Bale, Kieffer Moore, Mark Harris, Brennan Johnson, Daniel James

Southgate will lead England to the round of 16 in the World Cup


Southgate will lead England to the round of 16 in the World Cup

England v Wales: Match facts

  • England drew 0–0 against the USA in their final World Cup game, bringing the number of goalless draws at the World Cup to 12, more than any other nation in World Cup history.
  • Wales (D2 L5) are on a seven-game winless run in all competitions for the first time since May 2003–November 2003 (D2 L5), the last of a long winless streak between March 2000 and September 2001 (12).
  • England have lost their third and final group stage match in just two of their 14 FIFA World Cup appearances (W7 D5), against Spain in 1950 and Belgium in 2018.
  • This is England’s first ever FIFA World Cup match against another British team. The Three Lions are unbeaten in all three matches against other British teams in the UEFA European Championship (W1 D1 v Scotland, W1 v Wales).
  • England have won each of their last six games against Wales, scoring 11 goals in that run and conceding just one, a Gareth Bale free-kick at EURO 2016. Wales date back to May 1984, thanks to a goal from Mark Hughes (1) -0).
  • Of the Wales players who completed 90 minutes in their two matches against USA and Iran, Gareth Bale had the fewest tackles in both games (34 vs USA, 36 vs Ukraine). Iran, managing only two shots in the two games, one of which was his penalty against the United States.
  • After scoring an English calendar year record 16 goals in 2021, Harry Kane has scored just three times in 10 games in 2022, all from the penalty spot. Kane has not scored on any of his 20 free throws in 2022 so far.
  • Wales faced 21 shots in their 2-0 loss to Iran, the third time in their last eight games they have faced more than 20 shots, as many as in their previous 62 games combined. Last time they faced England at a major tournament, the Three Lions managed exactly 20 shots in a 2-1 win at EURO 2016.
  • England have won just one of their last eight matches in all competitions (D4 L3), their fewest in an eight-match span since a run between October 2001 and June 2002 (also a win).
  • Wales have failed to win either of their two matches at the 2022 World Cup, drawing with the USA and losing to Iran. They have never gone to a major tournament without winning at least once; they have won once at the 1958 World Cup, four matches at EURO 2016 and one match at EURO 2020.

Watch the WC with talkSPORT

What time is England v Wales tonight?  UK kick-off date and time for 2022 World Cup clash at Ahmad bin Ali Stadium

At talkSPORT we are fan-driven, so come and join us for the ultimate World Cup fan experience this winter – in the talkSPORT Fan Zone.

In a large covered space under the vaults of Waterloo in London, we will bring you live screenings of all World Cup matches.

There will be Q&A with talkSPORT talent, you will be part of our live shows and there will also be plenty of food and drink.

Come and have the best World Cup fan experience in London – and enjoy a free pint – with tickets for all remaining matches on sale HERE!

Not all news on the site expresses the views of the site, but we transmit that news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.

Leave a Comment